Exclusive: Life On The Sideline EP announcement, music video premiere

Since releasing Honesty Is A Dying Breed two years ago, Life On The Sideline has remained active on the road and is now ready to unveil its upcoming EP, Never Settle. To kick things off, we're premiering the music video for the band's new single, "Echo", which tells the sad story of a young girl reminiscing times spent with her deceased partner. While not a pop punk song per se, it's as catchy as one with an infectious chorus that you'll inevitably get stuck in your head. The band's sound could be compared to that of Transit's and The Early November's. Fans can pre-order the EP on iTunes and CD here, before it's released on June 7th. […]

Friday, October 4, 2013

Review: A Loss For Words - "Before It Caves"

Release InfoA Loss For Words - Before It Caves
Release Date: October 8th, 2013
Record Label: Rise Records
Pre-order: CD/merch

This year, it definitely seems like we are starting to see more and more bands getting ready to put out new full-lengths for the first time in the last couple of years. With bands like Balance And Composure, Touché Amoré, Saves The Day, Polar Bear Club and The Swellers already following up to their 2011 releases, it's now time to add A Loss For Words to this list. Keeping fans up to speed with what's been going in the AL4W camp since their Rise Records debut, No Sanctuary, Boston's most handsome pop-punk quartet still remains stronger than ever. There's no doubt that the release of their upcoming full-length, Before It Caves, which according to their peers, proves to be one of the most anticipated albums to come out this fall. Staying true to their melodic hooks while adding a new progressive twist to their sound, this release definitely lives up to its expectations.

Right away, we are blown away with opening tracks like "Distance", "Conquest Of Mistakes" and "No Pioneer", which have been announced earlier in the year that the band received help from an all-star group of friends to be apart of the record. Fans are definitely in for a treat to find that they would get to hear contributing guest vocal appearances from Lynn Gunn (Paris), Jimmy Stadt (Polar Bear Club) and Dan "Soupy" Campbell (The Wonder Years) on these three blistering tracks.

While the first half of the record immediately brings to the table a few standalone tracks that reflect upon the band's classic dynamics, Before It Caves definitely introduces a more innovative sound from start to finish. You could definitely hear this new transition from tracks like "Distance" as well as "No Merit To Envy" and "The Kids Can't Lose", that emulate a mature sound that may remind listeners of Transit's progression leading up to the release of Listen & Forgive or even post-Chris-Carrabba-era Further Seems Forever.

Lyrically, listeners can also pick up this new sense of maturity that is found within many songs on this record. "Siesta Key" is a heavily-uplifting song that fits this category quite well. The lines in the chorus, "When it calls comes to an end/I won't regret a minute spent/So I'll hold onto days like these/And scream, "We'll never give it up"", bring together the context of this song in full circle. These words primarily stand out in a genuine sense because they individually embrace the idea of reflecting back on the memories that have been crafted along the road; while the band continues to live in moment with each passing day.

"Eclipsed" is definitely another song that comes to mind as well. While lines like "Eclipsed by September/I was always two steps behind", might hesitantly decline us to accept the winds of change during a slowly-distanced relationship, however it's within the chorus "Won't you stay for the summer?/'cause the winter might tears us apart", where a clearer picture has been painted. The disconnection of moving forward conflicts with dwelling on the past and "Eclipsed" is a song that foreshadows the anguish of accepting the fact that some things are better left in the past, no matter how badly you would want re-live those moments over and over again.

However, fans who have been listening to AL4W since the very beginning will be elated to see that the band saved an oldie, but a goodie to send off the album. "All Roads Will Lead To Home" was an opening song off of an older acoustic EP called Webster Lake. While the band released an acoustic follow-up last year, Revisiting Webster Lake, which provided revised acoustic versions of their earlier hits, listeners will fall in love with AL4W once again while hearing "All Roads Lead To Home" the way it should sound; played together with a full band.

Before It Caves is truly a genuine album that establishes a new-found sense of progression for AL4W, while paying homage to the traditional dynamics that helped them get to where they are today. Though this record may sound more composed and mature compared to their earlier work, there is no doubt that this album will make their loyal fans will rediscover and fall in love with A Loss For Words once again.

1. Distance (Feat. Lynn Gunn)
2. Conquest Of Mistakes (Feat. Dan "Soupy" Cambpell)
3. Falling
4. All This Time
5. No Pioneer (Feat. Jimmy Stadt)
6. 20 Block
7. No Merit To Envy
8. Eclipsed
9. The Kids Can't Lose
10. The Torch And The Name
11. Brace Yourself
12. Siesta Key
13. All Roads Lead To Home

RIYL: Listen & Forgive by Transit, How To Start A Fire by Further Seems Forever, Gospel by Fireworks, Good For Me by The Swellers, The Greatest Generation by The Wonder Years

More reviews by Ryan McGrath