Exclusive: Life On The Sideline EP announcement, music video premiere

Since releasing Honesty Is A Dying Breed two years ago, Life On The Sideline has remained active on the road and is now ready to unveil its upcoming EP, Never Settle. To kick things off, we're premiering the music video for the band's new single, "Echo", which tells the sad story of a young girl reminiscing times spent with her deceased partner. While not a pop punk song per se, it's as catchy as one with an infectious chorus that you'll inevitably get stuck in your head. The band's sound could be compared to that of Transit's and The Early November's. Fans can pre-order the EP on iTunes and CD here, before it's released on June 7th. […]

Monday, December 23, 2013

Review: Decade - "Good Luck"

Release InfoDecade - Good Luck
Release Date: January 14th, 2014
Record Label: Spinefarm Records
Pre-order: Digital/CD

If Decade hasn’t been on your radar for a good year or more, then you aren’t as up to date with current kick-ass music. Having been on The Priorities Tour with Don Broco as well as being on tour with Tonight Alive and Set It Off, this band should be on everyone’s list to check on now and again. Having created a record with a sound that is similar to Weezer or the early work of The Get Up Kids, Good Luck boils over with hard riffs and a creative bit of lyricism.

The album starts of with the title track and just takes off from there with lead vocalist Alex Sears providing a raw and emotional tone that you’d expect from a indie record. Standout tracks like "Brainfreeze" and "Callous" the band provides an energy that could be used to crowd surf the world, twice. With a subject matter that would rival any depressed punk record, Good Luck is a sure thing when it comes to finding great music that is equally diverse as it is traditional when it comes to this genre. Good Luck only has one downfall when it comes to its sound and that is its creators are a young act and this album shines light on that. The talent is there but the band has not yet found full use of it.

The album is diverse, yes, but not many of its songs are standout material. Decade can only grow from here and Good Luck is only the beginning to what greatness awaits this group of talented men.

1. Good Luck
2. Brainfreeze
3. Callous
4. British Weather
5. Woke
6. I Don't Care
7. Fools Gold
8. Coffin
9. Homebound
10. Fake Teeth
11. Thursday (Bonus Track)
12. Who Knew? (Bonus Track)

RIYL: Weezer, early The Get Up Kids

More reviews by Joseph Tucker