Exclusive: Life On The Sideline EP announcement, music video premiere

Since releasing Honesty Is A Dying Breed two years ago, Life On The Sideline has remained active on the road and is now ready to unveil its upcoming EP, Never Settle. To kick things off, we're premiering the music video for the band's new single, "Echo", which tells the sad story of a young girl reminiscing times spent with her deceased partner. While not a pop punk song per se, it's as catchy as one with an infectious chorus that you'll inevitably get stuck in your head. The band's sound could be compared to that of Transit's and The Early November's. Fans can pre-order the EP on iTunes and CD here, before it's released on June 7th. […]

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Review: Diamond Youth - "Shake" EP

Release InfoDiamond Youth - Shake EP
Release Date: February 4th, 2014
Record Label: Topshelf Records
Pre-order: Digital/vinyl/merch

As a follow-up from their Topshelf Records debut, Orange, Baltimore's friendly neighborhood alt-rockers, Diamond Youth, literally pick up from where they left off musically last year with the release of their forthcoming EP, Shake.

One standalone quality about Shake, in comparison to their previous material, is the fact that DY definitely kicked it up a notch by dropping the hammer with a heavier alternative-based sound. While staying true to their energetic warm weather persona, the band turns the volume up to eleven with an explosive sound to add to their blissful surf-pop undertone.

In similar fashion to heavy-hitting tracks on the Orange EP, including "Cannonball", "Separator" and, of course the title track, "Orange", songs like "Red Water" definitely pack a punch with explosive chords and ripping bass-line introductions that are practically identical the upbeat fury dished out by alternative rock giants the likes of Queens of the Stone Age and the almighty Foo Fighters.  Following along into this unique transition in sound, "Warm Scene" sparks adrenaline into your veins with Living Colour-esque guitar riffs that would make listeners invincible.

Adding to this spontaneous dynamic in musicianship, Diamond Youth often returns to their soothing summer-pop style with key tracks like "Can't Shake the Feeling" and "Don't Feel Real".  Taking influence from the Beach Boys with charming vocal harmonies to complement the band's warm weather sound, listeners would instantly find themselves becoming extremely hooked on these heart-melting tracks.

Maryland Ice Cream (often abbreviated to MDIC) is simply the icing on the cake of this EP.  Considering that a majority of Diamond Youth's members all come from different background in both the Baltimore and Richmond Hardcore scene, Maryland Ice Cream is a prefect closing track that sends-off the record with a raw 50-second punk song that will instantly make you want to do back flips into a crowd at a show or cannonball into a swimming pool; or maybe both.

Overall, Shake is an EP that offers a spontaneous sense variety which appeals many different listeners alike; from '90s alternative rock sunbathers to hardcore and punk rock kids.  Short, sweet and straight to the point, these six songs will leave drooling for more.  Diamond Youth once again provides another solid release that makes us eagerly dream for the soothing summer breeze and endless fun under the sun.

1. Red Water
2. Can't Shake The Feeling
3. Don't Feel Real
4. Warm Scene
5. Maryland Ice Cream
6. Copy Cat (Hidden Track)

RIYL: Songs For The Deaf by Queens Of The Stone Age, Self-Titled by Foo Fighters, Extra Raw by Angel Du$t, Insomniac by Green Day

More reviews by Ryan McGrath