Exclusive: Life On The Sideline EP announcement, music video premiere

Since releasing Honesty Is A Dying Breed two years ago, Life On The Sideline has remained active on the road and is now ready to unveil its upcoming EP, Never Settle. To kick things off, we're premiering the music video for the band's new single, "Echo", which tells the sad story of a young girl reminiscing times spent with her deceased partner. While not a pop punk song per se, it's as catchy as one with an infectious chorus that you'll inevitably get stuck in your head. The band's sound could be compared to that of Transit's and The Early November's. Fans can pre-order the EP on iTunes and CD here, before it's released on June 7th. […]

Friday, February 28, 2014

Review: Elder Brother - "Heavy Head"

Release InfoElder Brother - Heavy Head
Release Date: March 11th, 2014
Record Label: Pure Noise Records
Pre-Order: CD/vinyl/merch

Elder Brother has been making waves these past few months with their new record, Heavy Head. The LP has a mixture of lyrical and musical roots with Dan Rose (Daybreaker) lending his soulful voice and Kevin Geyer (The Story So Far) throwing in his take on the musical side of things and both of the musicians worked together on the lyrics that went into Heavy Head.

The record sounds like both groups, but also sounds like neither. It has an indie feel that each artist has employed on their separate records, but Heavy Head is a standalone when it comes down to it. Both artists create records to challenge its listeners so that different people take away different things and this shows in Heavy Head. The lyricism is complex so one person thinks that a track means one thing and another listener thinks the same track means another. You will not find transparency in this record and that adds to the reasons this is a five star album. While the indie rock scene gets more and more complex, Elder Brother has successfully used the genre’s basic structure to make a fantastic record.

In the end, Heavy Head holds a musical clarity that one cannot overlook and that alone is why this will be a top record of this year.

1. Pennsylvania
2. Throw Me To The Wolves
3. Webs
4. Any Sort Of Plan
5. Lightning Bug
6. A Slow Comfortable Deep Breath
7. Heavy Head
8. Who's Gonna Carry You Home?
9. Really Free
10. In My Bones
11. Sunday Mornings

RIYL: Daybreaker, The Story So Far
More reviews by Joseph Tucker