Exclusive: Life On The Sideline EP announcement, music video premiere

Since releasing Honesty Is A Dying Breed two years ago, Life On The Sideline has remained active on the road and is now ready to unveil its upcoming EP, Never Settle. To kick things off, we're premiering the music video for the band's new single, "Echo", which tells the sad story of a young girl reminiscing times spent with her deceased partner. While not a pop punk song per se, it's as catchy as one with an infectious chorus that you'll inevitably get stuck in your head. The band's sound could be compared to that of Transit's and The Early November's. Fans can pre-order the EP on iTunes and CD here, before it's released on June 7th. […]

Monday, April 21, 2014

Review: Life On The Sideline - "Honesty Is A Dying Breed"

Release InfoLife On The Sideline - Honesty Is A Dying Breed
Release Date: April 22nd, 2014
Record Label: Take This To Heart Records
Pre-order: Digital/CD

The alternative-influenced outlet Life On The Sideline hit it straight out the park with their debut album, Honesty Is A Dying Breed. LOTS introduces listeners to a nostalgic vibe that draws inspiration from classic emo influences, while incorporating heavier elements of contemporary pop punk into their style. Essentially, HIADB is an appropriate title that captures the underlying theme that is addressed throughout this release.

Setting the stage with the opening track "Wake Up", this atmospheric introduction is a heart-wrenching narrative that presents a reality check for listeners that have endured heartache through the tragedy of distance. While the haunting lines, "Waking up in your arms, in your arms at three in the morning will be something I will cherish my entire life/It's too bad that you had to change your mind", go in one ear and out the other, you would almost feel as if you've awaken from a blissful dream of past memories that have faded away over time.

Transitioning into an explosive verse leading into "Everything I Lost", vocalist Nick DiCiancia opens up to listeners the unsettling woes of being stuck in one place while longing to escape from his clouded thoughts. With relatable lines like "I am tired of the way my mind gets when I am alone", DiCiancia subtly reveals that he is calling out for a change of scenery.

"I'm A Wreck" is another inviting ballad that captures the sincerity of HIADB with narrated lines that establish the central message of this record. As this song captures pure intensity of the band's emotionally driven aesthetics, the soothing verse, "Mentally, I'm miserable and physically, I'm sore", carries over into album's closing tune, "Rough Draft" - a finale that reflects back on the band's gracious narrative with an appreciation for where they came from and how far they've come.

While this album provides a genuine and introspective lyrical theme throughout, HIADB also brings to the table a colorful sense of musical variety that touches upon their influences in an interesting way. Not only do standalone songs like "Surround", "Drive", and "I'll Be Around" instill an upbeat tone that reflects the eccentric and fun-loving sound of influential groups like The Early November, the title track is an innovative number that branches away from their melodic style with heavy-hitting chords and blistering breakdowns that come right out of left field.

Overall, HIADB chronologically documents the band's personal journey the way they wanted it to be told. With gripping transitional interludes and deep cuts that paint a picture of growth and self-reflection, Life On The Sideline is not afraid to reveal the true hearts on their sleeves.

1. Wake Up
2. Everything I Lost
3. Honesty Is A Dying Breed
4. Surround
5. I'm A Wreck
6. Drive
7. Artless
8. I'd Be Nothing
9. Rough Draft

RIYL: The Kids Can't Loose by A Loss For Words, For All Of This by The Early November, Everyday I Tell Myself I'm Going To Be A Better Person by Misser, Direction by Lions Lions, Doubt by Giants At Large


More reviews by Ryan McGrath